RSS

Speak or Listen

21 Jul

I don’t want to speak

Why do you press me?

I am quiet,

Nothing but thought

There are no words

Anyway

Why does it matter?

You seem content

Listening to your own voice

Why ask me to speak?

My words aren’t funny

They aren’t clever

And besides,

I like to talk sometimes

But you aren’t inviting

I’m comfortable as I am

And you seem

The same

If you really want me to talk

Wait, ask, listen

Don’t fill up my mouth

With your words

I’d love to speak

But not when you

Cut the line

And cover my mouth

I’m not aggressive

I’m tired, I won’t steal your space

Just let me alone

If you won’t let me speak

Don’t marvel over my few words

Please, please,

Just listen

Or leave me be.

Coffeeshophorrors

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 21, 2012 in Poetry, Random Thoughts

 

One response to “Speak or Listen

  1. yishailasley

    July 21, 2012 at 8:07 am

    I have to say, the one word that I could use to summarize this… would be honorable. The definition of honorable is so: honesty, fairness, or integrity in one’s beliefs and actions. That may seem odd to you, but it is what came to me.

     

Leave a comment