RSS

101 Dalmations

22 Jun

I wrote this poem, called Simple Pleasures, on a site called Written? Kitten! where every hundred words you write earns you the adorable picture of a kitten (ikr? who thought of that!) This poem, though I struggled for 60 whole seconds to make it exactly one hundred words, leaked into one hundred and one, hence the title of this post. Here’s the poem, and the picture I earned:

My hair is wet on my sunburned back
Simple pleasures are strong and stable
The shadows lengthen as the sun sets
The long slow sound of a rocking cradle
A tune plays sadly across the water
Simple pleasures are tough and hardy
A smile spreads across my own, tired face
Those people, relentless, keep calling me shorty!
The wind whips my hair away from my eyes
Simple pleasures are supple and smooth
My fingers slide effortlessly over the piano
My feet push angrily out of my shoes
Simple pleasures
Thanks too,
For
That moment, when a friend says “I love you”

photo

Kitten in basket

Altogether now: AWWWWWWWWWW!!!!

Coffeeshophorrors

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 22, 2012 in Poetry

 

One response to “101 Dalmations

  1. pressedbywords

    June 22, 2012 at 4:28 am

    “AWWWWWWWWWW!!!!” Wow, that poem really captures the essence of simplicity, and all the beauty it holds. Gorgeous. Major-o jealous-o 😛

     

Leave a comment