RSS

Thanksgiving

08 Dec

Yeah, I suppose it is a little late for this theme. You open up WordPress and viola! you can choose from 10 different blog posts about Christmas. I guess that’s fair since it is the first week of December. Everyone is slamming their binders closed and thanking God that it will all be over soon, hanging up Christmas lights on their Christmas tree and thanking God for that delicious scent of evergreen washing over them, or taking a family photo for their Christmas cards and thanking God for such a beautiful family.

Okay, I’m starting over, I suppose this blog post is well suited to the season :).

Referring back to my post The Golden Years, I pretty obviously used to be depressed. Not severely depressed, and it didn’t really show that much but this upcoming poem proves that my heart was pretty downcast and idiotic. I found this in an old journal of mine.

Not You

I lay my head on a bony shoulder,

Exhausted, so tired, spent,

Another’s, not yours, another’s-

I share my words with an uninviting group,

Exhausted, cautious, spent,

Others, not you, others-

I hear the wind blowing me away,

Exhausted, helpless, spent,

Wind, not you, wind-

My tears leak onto my own wretched shoulder,

Exhausted, alone, spent,

Mine, not yours, mine.

The End

Well yeah, I don’t think that it’s a great poem, but it shows how stinkin’ selfish and depressed I was (sidenote-those two seem to go hand in hand. When you look only at yourself for too long, I guess it depresses you). Well, I suppose I just wanted to say how thankful I am. I’m still sinful and I can be easily stressed out and depressed, but nothing like this. Not even close. Because I’ve learned to pick myself up again when I fall down. Or rather, I’ve learned how to take God’s hand and let Him put me back on my feet.

Coffeeshophorrors

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2011 in All that Jesus Stuff, Poetry

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Thanksgiving

  1. coffeeshophorrors

    December 15, 2011 at 1:30 am

    I just wrote another post on a blog that kind of reflects this, and it’s about rejoicing. Here’s the link:

    http://worshipoftheheart.blogspot.com/2011/12/rejoice-lily.html

     
  2. mjray926

    December 19, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    I love the poem! It’s so descriptive 🙂

     
    • coffeeshophorrors

      December 21, 2011 at 12:32 am

      Thank you! The writings on your blog are much better, though. I just kind of bleed my thoughts onto the page.

       

Leave a comment