RSS

My Plan

30 Nov

So, before church on Sunday, since my siblings were leading worship and had to arrive early, so I got to sit in the car waiting until someone got there. When asked what my plan was before leaving by my father, who was attending a different church that morning, I answered “sleep in the car”. As much as I love sleeping in cars, I can only fall asleep in moving ones, so after the five minute ride to Open Door, I sat in the front staring ahead.

Well, what else can you do? Right in front of me was a wide, open grassy area and far in the distance, across a fence and a stream were three almost completely bare trees. Small black silhouettes outlined the last leaves, barely clinging on to the naked, dark gray twigs. Every few seconds I would see the dark shadow of a small bird flitting across to another tree.

“Autumn is a second spring where every leaf is a flower.”

https://i0.wp.com/images.fineartamerica.com/images-medium-large/autumn-sun-behind-branches-of-bare-tree-michal-boubin.jpg

Back to my plan. It quickly changed when a)I realized I couldn’t possibly fall asleep no matter how tired and sick I was and b)the scene in front of me was too pretty for me to even close my eyes. So, with nothing but a bible, a notebook, and a pen, I started on my new plan. Well, not technically. First I started writing a journal entry type thing, and since that didn’t work out (it never does) I decided on poetry. So here it is (sorry, it was free hand so there isn’t any order, it just sounded good at the time):

The Last Leaf

All the others have caught your leaves

As they fell, one by one

In all their golden-red splendor

Now your mighty branches stretch into the sky

Thin, bare, proud, cold

As they crush your mane in their jaws

And if I, with my silvery wings

Blown about easily by the whims

Found you, with your glory

Strewn along the ground

By the wind’s fiery wrath and anger

I wouldn’t hurt you

Stone cold, solid, and vulnerable

I’d find rest in the crevices you hid before

And when your last leaf fell-

Slavering jaws reaching to snatch it-

I, with my airy, subjective feathers,

Would fly down and catch it.

Coffeeshophorrors

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 30, 2011 in Art, Poetry, Random Thoughts

 

Tags:

6 responses to “My Plan

  1. Emilino Emloile

    November 30, 2011 at 1:22 am

    Wow you are an amazing writer.
    This has a lot of different meanings, it seems… does it mean the bird is like God (or a good friend or whatever) will catch the leaf before the other trees, cuz the other trees are bullies who steal its good fortune?
    Or is the BIRD the bully?

     
    • coffeeshophorrors

      November 30, 2011 at 11:27 pm

      Thank you, it took me all of 10 minutes to write this 🙂

      I don’t actually know who ‘they’ is (the things that crush the tree’s leaves in their jaws), but they could be the two other trees. That’s an interesting idea.

      I’m not a bully!!!!! (I’m the bird, originally, there could be many different interpretations, though. That’s the best part of poetry)

       
  2. pressedbywords

    December 10, 2011 at 2:35 am

    an amazing picture and an amazing poem. love you! ❤

     
  3. mjray926

    December 19, 2011 at 2:22 pm

    Once again, GREAT poem!! And I know what you mean, I can only sleep in moving cars too.

     
    • coffeeshophorrors

      December 21, 2011 at 12:33 am

      It’s a curse. I get stuck in parked vehicles way too often 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
